Additional and Selective Licensing Scheme

At a recent city council Cabinet meeting, approval was granted for the development of two licensing schemes - Additional Licensing and Selective Licensing - in the West End of Morecambe. These schemes are aimed at improving the management and standards of privately rented properties in that area.

Additional Licensing

Lancaster City Council currently operates a mandatory licensing scheme across the district as required by law for particular types of houses in multiple occupation (HMOs).  Additional licensing broadens the definition of a HMO, bringing more properties under the remit of HMO licensing.

Selective Licensing

Selective Licensing is a scheme which allows a local authority to introduce licensing conditions to all other private rented housing within a designated area. Selective Licensing can only be introduced if certain conditions are present:

  • Low housing demand
  • The area is experiencing a significant and persistent problem caused by anti-social behaviour and some or all of the private sector landlords are failing to adequately manage anti-social behaviour within their tenancies

Selective Licensing can run for up to five years and can only be renewed with permission from the Secretary of State.

Consultation - how to have your say

From Monday 9 October we are running a 10-week consultation regarding the licensing proposals, and a questionnaire is being sent to every home in Harbour and Heysham North wards. We encourage everyone to complete it and return using the enclosed prepaid envelopes, by Friday 15 December. Alternatively, you can complete the questionnaire online:

Before completing the questionnaire, we advise that you read the following documents:

Drop-in events

In addition to the questionnaire, we are holding a series of drop-in sessions around the West End, enabling residents, landlords, business owners and anyone else who has an interest, to give their views about the proposals.

Consultation drop-in events
When Where
Wednesday 15 November, 6pm - 8pm More Music, LA3 1QT
Monday 20 November, 9:30am - 11:30am More Music, LA3 1QT
Wednesday 22 November, 9:30am - 11:30am Morecambe Town Hall, Marine Road, LA4 5AF
Tuesday 28 November, 2pm - 4pm West End Impact, Heysham, LA3 1DG
Wednesday 6 December, 9:3am - 11:30am More Music, LA3 1QT

Last updated: 03 November 2017