Christmas waste and recycling collections

Don’t forget to check your collection calendar as there will be changes over the Christmas period to your normal waste and recycling collection days.

There will be no collections on the 25 and 26 December and 1 January. Please see the table below to check your revised Christmas collection dates.

Christmas collection dates

Your normal collection day Your revised collection day
Monday 23 December  Saturday 21 December
Tuesday 24 December Monday 23 December 
Wednesday 25 December Tuesday 24 December 
Thursday 26 December Friday 27 December  
Friday 27 December  Saturday 28 December
Monday December 30 No change
Tuesday December 31 No change
Wednesday 1 January Thursday 2 January 
Thursday 2 January  Friday 3 January
Friday 3 January Saturday 4 January 

If in doubt you should refer to your waste and recycling collection calendar.  If you have misplaced it, visit www.lancaster.gov.uk/bins or download and use the ilancaster app, available at www.lancaster.gov.uk/app

Trade waste collection service

There will also be changes to our commercial waste and collection service over the Christmas and New Year period.  For more information visit www.lancaster.gov.uk/tradewaste

Christmas Tree Recycling Collections

For a small donation to St John’s Hospice, you can have your real Christmas trees collected from your doorstep by hospice volunteers in the new year. For more information or to book yourself a collection, visit: www.sjhospice.org.uk/recycletrees, or call 01524 382538 during office hours.

Suspension of garden waste collections

Residents in the Lancaster district who have subscribed to the council’s garden waste collection service are being reminded that collections will be suspended over the winter months in what is traditionally the quietest time for gardeners.

There will be no collections of garden waste from Monday, December 16 until collections resume on Monday, February 10 2020.  During this time, people are being encouraged to either compost the green waste which may accumulate over this period or dispose of it at a local recycling centre. 

However, people who wish to subscribe to the garden waste collection service provided by the council from Monday, April 1 2020, will be able to do so from January at a cost of £40 per green bin.  There will be no increase in fees for this collections service for 2020/21.

Last updated: 20 December 2019