Lancaster City Council elects new leader

Following the recent local elections, Councillor Erica Lewis has been elected as the new leader of Lancaster City Council.

Coun Erica Lewis was elected by full Council at a meeting held last night (Monday) for a two year period.

Coun Lewis then appointed a Cabinet of a further nine members.

The members of the new Cabinet are: 

  • Coun Erica Lewis (Leader)
  • Coun Kevin Frea (Deputy Leader, with particular responsibility for coordinating the council’s response to the climate emergency across all portfolios)
  • Coun Dave Brookes (Environmental Services)
  • Coun Tim Hamilton-Cox (Economic Regeneration)
  • Coun Janice Hanson (Resources)
  • Coun Caroline Jackson (Housing)
  • Coun Jean Parr (Arts, Culture, Leisure & Tourism)
  • Coun John Reynolds (Planning)
  • Coun Alistair Sinclair (Communities & Social Justice)
  • Coun Anne Whitehead (Finance)

Also elected at the Council meeting were the chairmen of all the council’s committees.

  • Coun Tricia Heath - Overview and Scrutiny
  • Coun Keith Budden - Budget and Performance Panel
  • Coun Anna Thornberry - Planning Regulatory Committee
  • Coun Colin Hartley - Licensing Committee
  • Coun Oliver Robinson - Personnel Committee
  • Coun Jason Wood - Appeals Committee
  • Coun Paul Stubbins - Audit Committee
  • Coun Mandy King - Standards Committee
  • Coun Joan Jackson - Council Business Committee

Council also appointed Coun Roger Dennison as Veterans' Champion.

Last updated: 21 May 2019