View of the Maritime Museum
Explore Lancaster’s golden age and rich maritime and natural history.
Lancaster Maritime Museum occupies two historic buildings on St. George's Quay, the city's main 18th century harbour.
It was opened in 1985 and has won many awards. The former Custom House of 1764, designed by Richard Gillow, contains displays on the history of the Port of Lancaster and the local fishing industry, with a gallery for exhibitions.
In the adjacent warehouse are displays on the Lancaster Canal and the ecology of Morecambe Bay.
Several preserved vessels are also displayed, including 'Sir William Priestley' and 'Coronation Rose'.
There is a cafeteria and shop and parking is available at the rear.
Opening times and admission
Please see the Lancashire Museums website for current opening times and admission charges.
The museum is open daily. Admission is free for local residents (with proof of address).
The museum is fully accessible to all visitors with lift access to the upper floors. We regret that on some occasions access may need be limited to upper levels to ensure visitor safety in the event of an emergency. Please call or email the museum for more details before your visit.
Friends of Lancaster Maritime Museum
Visit the Friends of Lancaster Maritime Museum website or contact them by email at firstname.lastname@example.org