Christmas waste and recycling collections

Don’t forget to check your collection calendar as there will be changes over the Christmas period to your normal waste and recycling collection days.  The changes begin on the Saturday before Christmas Day and finish on Saturday January 5.

There will be no collections on the 23, 25 and 26 December and 1 January.

Christmas collections 2018
Your normal collection day Your revised collection day
Monday 24 December Saturday 22 December
Tuesday 25 December Monday 24 December
Wednesday 26 December Thursday 27 December
Thursday 27 December  Friday 28 December
Friday 28 December Saturday 29 December
Monday 31 December Monday 31 December (normal collection day)
Tuesday 1 January         Wednesday 2 January
Wednesday 2 January      Thursday 3 January
Thursday 3 January      Friday 4 January
Friday 4 January         Saturday 5 January

 If in doubt you should refer to your waste and recycling collection calendar.  If you have misplaced it, visit www.lancaster.gov.uk/bins or download and use the ilancaster app, available at www.lancaster.gov.uk/app

Christmas tree recycling collections

If you buy your tree from our White Lund Plant Centre, not only do we offer free delivery to homes and businesses within the district but for a small fee of £3, the council will pick up your tree in the new year and turn it into mulch for use in our local parks. 

Alternatively, for a small donation to St John’s Hospice, you can have your real Christmas trees collected from your doorstep by hospice volunteers in the new year. For more information or to book yourself a collection, visit: www.sjhospice.org.uk/recycletrees, or call 01524 382538 during office hours.

Suspension of garden waste collections

Residents in the Lancaster district who have subscribed to the council’s garden waste collection service are being reminded that collections will be suspended over the winter months in what is traditionally the quietest time for gardeners.

There will be no collections of garden waste from Monday, December 10 until collections resume on Monday, February 11.  During this time, people are being encouraged to either compost the green waste which may accumulate over this period or dispose of it at a local recycling centre.  New subscriptions for the garden waste collection service which ends on March 31 2019 are no longer accepted.

However, people who wish to subscribe to the garden waste collection service provided by the council from April 1, 2019, will be able to do so from January at a cost of £40 per green bin. There will be no increase in fees for this collections service for 2019/20.

Last updated: 12 December 2018