Privacy settings

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Lancaster

The admittance of a person to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City of Lancaster, is made in recognition of their eminent service as a past member of Lancaster City Council, providing they have served for at least fifteen years and is made pursuant to Section 249 (1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Honorary Aldermen since the formation of Lancaster City Council in 1974
Honorary Alderman Admitted
Arnold Lindley MBE (Deceased) 1981
Margery J Lovett-Horn (Deceased) 1981
Thomas S Hayton (Deceased) 1981
Roland Jones (Deceased) 1981
John R Holt 1981
Samuel John Smith (Deceased) 1983
Winifred Sweeney (Deceased) 1983
Peter Sumner (Deceased) 1983
Joseph Samual Lowthian (Deceased) 1983
Ivy Weldrake (Deceased) 1983
Eric Jones (Deceased) 1983
Geoffrey George Bryan 1987
John Dean Dawson (Deceased) 1987
Harry Holgate (Deceased) 1987
Michael Currie Kennan (Deceased) 1987
Donald George Kershaw (Deceased) 1987
William Leslie Rigg (Deceased) 1987
Thomas Townson Shingler (Deceased) 1987
John Hastings Ball 1991
John Downey (Deceased) 1991
William Mashiter (Deceased) 1991
Jean Taylor OBE (Deceased) 1991
Dr Stuart Paul Mews 1993
Robert Howson Carr 1995
Henry Towers (Deceased) 1995
John Ronald Lodge (Deceased) 1999
Hilda Margaret Shuttleworth 1999
Jean Race 1999
Patrick Leonard Rye 1999
Arthur Briggs MBE (Deceased) 2003
Sybil Rostron (Deceased) 2003
Jean Elizabeth Yates 2003
Patricia Mary Quinton (Deceased) 2007
Janie E Kirkman 2011
John Gilbert 2011
Anthony Wade 2011
R John Day 2011
David Kerr 2015
Shirley Burns 2015
Michael Greenall 2015
Joyce Taylor 2015
Keith Budden 2015
Paul Woodruff 2017


Last updated: 21 November 2017

Lancaster City Council logogram

Cookies policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are essential, while others help us to improve your experience by providing insights into how the site is being used.

Review your privacy settings